@Rolex #Daytona #Mustang

No. 5 Mustang Sampling Racing Cadillac DPI wins 2018 Rolex 24 at Daytona

with a record distance

The Watch Quote™ - February 6th, 2018

Daytona International Speedway, Sunday 28 January 2018 – At 14:40 local time, the chequered flag waved the No. 5 Mustang Sampling Racing Cadillac DPI across the finish line, confirming Filipe Albuquerque, João Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi as winners of the 2018 Rolex 24 At DAYTONA. The No. 67 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing took victory in GT Le Mans (GTLM) and the No. 11 Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini Huracan GT3 triumphed in GT Daytona (GTD).

This year’s contest embodied the intense and demanding nature of modern-day endurance racing, with drivers pushing their cars to the limit lap after lap. The competitive line-up, endless traffic and a record-breaking 808 laps made the Rolex 24 At DAYTONA even tougher mentally and physically than previous races – justifying the Rolex 24s’ status as the ultimate test of endurance.

Motor sport champions competed for every inch of tarmac around the 3.56 mile Daytona International Speedway, attracting one of the largest in-field crowds in recent years to this twice-around-the-clock epic. It was an adrenaline-filled start, during which the No. 5 Mustang Sampling Racing and No. 7 Acura Team Penske Prototype (P) cars shared the lead. When darkness fell, a surprise downpour of rain brought a flurry of pit stops as the majority of cars changed to wet weather tyres.

The ability of the drivers and teams to adapt to the testing conditions further emphasized the depth and quality of this world-class field. As the track dried and the race reached the halfway mark, only 20 seconds separated the top four cars.

In the early hours of Sunday morning, the No. 6 Acura Team Penske suffered a mechanical failure and the No. 7 had contact with the No. 31 Whelen Engineering Racing Cadillac DPi, forcing both Acuras into the garage, putting them more than 15 laps off the lead and ending their hopes of victory. From here, it was a controlled drive to the end for the No. 5 car, finishing 1:10.544 ahead of the No. 31 to be crowned champion.

The GTLM category witnessed an historic 200th win and a one-two finish for Chip Ganassi Racing, making it an unforgettable weekend for team owner and this year’s Rolex 24 At DAYTONA Grand Marshal, Chip Ganassi. The triumphant car, driven by Ryan Briscoe, Richard Westbrook and Scott Dixon, took the lead with three hours remaining from sister car, No. 66 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing. The dominant Ford duo eventually finished two laps ahead of third placed No. 3 Chevrolet Corvette Racing C7.R. The GTD class saw a number of lead changes but finally the No. 11 pulled out a healthy advantage to reach the 24-hour mark fastest.

Crossing the finish line first at the Rolex 24 At DAYTONA immortalizes the team and drivers’ performance, while underlining their commitment to motor sport. Following the race, this extraordinary quest for excellence is honoured with a specially engraved Rolex Oyster Perpetual Cosmograph Daytona, the ultimate racing driver’s watch.

After the prize-giving presentation in Victory Lane, winning driver Filipe Albuquerque said: “It was overwhelming to receive the trophy and a Rolex Daytona after such a challenging drive – that final lap felt like one of the longest of my life! The race was unbelievable, with constant traffic demanding the utmost concentration. It truly was one of the most competitive and relentless 24 hours both inside and outside the car, which makes this win all the more special.”

Friend of Rolex, Scott Pruett, finished ninth in the GTD class in his symbolic 24th and final Rolex 24 At DAYTONA. With five overall victories, the American driver is tied with Hurley Haywood for the most wins at the Rolex 24 and, following the race, Scott Pruett reflected on his sports car success: “I have had an incredible journey to this point and it is very fitting to end my career at Daytona, which has become my second home. I am incredibly proud to have won five Rolex 24s and to have been rewarded each time with a Rolex – my Daytona watches will always bring back many fond memories. I still maintain, 'it's all about the watch' but it's also about the teams, cars and fans whose dedication and passion for motor sport is unparalleled. From the bottom of my heart, thank you all for your continued support.”

Rolex and Daytona

Rolex’s connection to Daytona harks back to an even earlier time when Daytona Beach was considered the capital of land speed records in the early 20th century. The long, flat and very firm Daytona Beach played host to 14 land speed records in the early part of the 20th century – five of which were set by Sir Malcolm Campbell, including the fastest official time recorded there of 276 mph in 1935 at the wheel of his mighty Bluebird with a Rolex on his wrist.

In 1992, Rolex formalized this long-standing association with Daytona and the Speedway becoming the Official Timepiece and Title Sponsor of the 24-hour Daytona classic, further strengthening the link between the race and the Rolex Oyster Perpetual Cosmograph Daytona watch. After 26 years, the brand is now so closely tied to the event that motor sport aficionados simply refer to it as “The Rolex”.

From Daytona
to the Cosmograph Daytona

a lot
very much indeed
not at all

  Most popular pages
1 Audemars Piguet watch, 2 Cartier watch, 3 Rolex watch, 4 Richard Mille watch, 5 Baume & Mercier watch, 6 Omega watch, 7 Patek Philippe watch, 8 A. Lange & Söhne watch, 9 Jaeger-LeCoultre watch, 10 Chanel watch, 11 Tag Heuer watch, 12 Hublot watch, 13 Corum watch, 14 IWC watch, 15 Girard-Perregaux watch, 16 Panerai watch, 17 Zenith watch, 18 Breitling watch, 19 Vacheron Constantin watch, 20 Chopard watch, 21 Blancpain watch, 22 Bell & Ross watch, 23 Tudor watch, 24 Bulgari watch, 25 Breguet watch, 26 Jacob & Co. watch, 27 Roger Dubuis watch, 28 Parmigiani watch, 29 Piaget watch, 30 Montblanc watch, 31 BRM watch, 32 Louis Vuitton watch, 33 Ebel watch, 34 Jaquet Droz watch, 35 L.Leroy watch, 36 Porsche Design watch, 37 Hermès watch, 38 Dior watch, 39 RALF TECH watch, 40 Yema watch, 41 Grand Seiko watch, 42 Franck Muller watch, 43 F. P. Journe watch, 44 Christophe Claret watch, 45 Ange Barde watch, 46 RJ watch, 47 Perrelet watch, 48 Wyler Genève watch, 49 Bombardier watch, 50 Ulysse Nardin watch, 51 Bucherer watch, 52 Harry Winston watch, 53 Ikepod watch, 54 Romain Gauthier watch, 55 Hautlence watch, 56 Les Ambassadeurs watch, 57 A. Lange & Söhne watch, 58 Ressence watch, 59 Graham-London watch, 60 Eterna watch,